Bathurst Regional Council delivers a broad range of services and facilities across the Bathurst local government area (LGA), servicing a population of 44,000, and more than 1,000,000 visitors annually. As the level of government closest to the community, what we do is diverse.

Our road network covers more than 1360km, with almost 1000km of that sealed. We have 120 playgrounds and parks; more than 20 different sporting facilities, 138km of cycleway and footpath and 245km of drainage pipes. Council owns and operates four museums, one childcare facility and Chifley Dam.

Our LGA covers 3,818square kilometres and includes the city of Bathurst and rural nine villages; Georges Plains, Hill End, Peel, Rockley, Sofala, Sunny Corner, Trunkey Creek, Wattle Flat and Yetholme. View the following maps of our city.

Bathurst Local Government Area Map(PDF, 4MB)
Bathurst City Map(PDF, 2MB)

Council employs more than 400 staff across four Departments headed by our Leadership TeamWe have 9 Councillors who are elected to carry out duties under the provision of the Local Government Act & Regulations. Bathurst Regional Council was created in 2004 with the merger of Bathurst City Council and Evans Shire Council.