Section 8 (The Council Charter) of the Local Government Act 1993 states:

A council has the following charter:

In order to carry out its responsibilities council is required to adopt an organisation structure. The organisation structure which council believes currently best suits the needs of the community and the organisation was adopted on 17 June 2009. It consists of four Directors who are directly responsible to the General Manager.

The four departments are:

Corporate Services & Finance
Engineering Services
Environmental, Planning & Building Services
Cultural & Community Services

Each Department is responsible for managing certain functions under Council's control. View each particular Department for further information.