About Council

Map of Bathurst Regional Council
Looking after its staff and ensuring open and transparent government is a main priority at Bathurst Regional Council.  In the 2012 Community Survey Bathurst residents rated Council’s professionalism as an organisation as 7.1 out of 10.

Council prides itself on providing a safe supportive and stimulating work environment.  Over 400 staff in 20 locations are on the job every day serving the community.

Attracting and keeping good people is a core priority at Bathurst Regional Council and Council will continue to monitor and evaluate its employees through the Employee Opinion Survey and Risk Management Policy.

Bathurst Regional Council includes all the area formerly included in the Bathurst City Council, most of Evans Shire and a small amount of land formerly included in Oberon Shire. Fifteen percent of the former Evans Shire around the Burraga village is now part of the Oberon Council. Maps of Bathurst Town and surrounding villages can be downloaded here.

The Bathurst area is surrounded by many unique villages. Visit the villages section on our Visit Bathurst website to find out more.


"A vibrant regional centre that enjoys a rural lifestyle, the Bathurst Region achieves health and well-being through strengthening economic opportunities, planning for sustainable growth, protection and enhancing our assets and encouraging a supportive and inclusive community.  A Region full of community spirit and shared prosperity."


"The equitable development and maintenance of services provided for the general health and well-being of the citizens of the Bathurst Region and the adjustment of these services to meet changing needs."

Origin of Bathurst Regional Council

Bathurst City Council and Evans Shire Council were dissolved on 26 May 2004 and the Bathurst Regional Council was created. As part of the proclamation an Administrator was appointed to oversee the initial period of the amalgamation process. On Saturday 5 March 2005 the first election of councillors for Bathurst Regional Council was held resulting in the election of nine (9) councillors as listed in alphabetical order.

Councillor Bobby Bourke
Councillor John Byrne
Councillor Gordon Crisp
Councillor Paul Haysom
Councillor Kath Knowles
Councillor Norm Mann
Councillor Janice McGilchrist
Councillor Ian North
Councillor Paul Toole

Council Elections

The Returning Officer for the election of the new Bathurst Regional Council at 12 pm on Friday 11 March 2005 officially declared the election of the new nine members of the Bathurst Regional Council.

The new Council met for the first time on Wednesday 16 March at 7pm in the Council Chamber to elect the positions of Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Amalgamation Update

Bathurst Regional Council covered most of the big issues about what the Amalgamation process meant to residents in the six issues of Amalgamation Update that were delivered to ratepayers.

The six newsletters produced are available here:

Amalgamation Update No 1 
Amalgamation Update No 2 
Amalgamation Update No 3 
Amalgamation Update No 4 
Amalgamation Update No 5 
Amalgamation Update No 6

Former Mission Statements

The mission statements of the previous Councils were:

Bathurst City Council

The equitable development and maintenance of services provided for the general health and well-being of the citizens of Bathurst and the adjustment of these services to meet the changing needs with adequate facilities providing for 50,000 by the year 2015.

Evans Shire Council

To be a respected, approachable organisation committed to;

- responsible economic management
- excellence in the provision of quality services
- sustainable environmental, planning and development policies which maintain and improve existing industries and encourage new enterprises.