Aboriginal Community

Bathurst Regional Council acknowledges the Wiradjuri People as the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we work and live. The Wiradjuri Nation is the largest Aboriginal group in New South Wales. The Wiradjuri people are known as “the people of the three rivers”, being the Wambuul (Macquarie), Kalari (Lachlan) and the Murrumbidjeri (Murrumbidgee). We pay respect to Elders, past, present and future and acknowledge other Indigenous Nations who work and live on Wiradjuri country.